Thursday, March 25, 2010

Gmail now alerts users if somebody else is using their account

Google announced a new security feature for Gmail that should help users ward off hackers and scammers from accessing their email accounts.

This new feature is an extrapolation of their existing remote sign out and information about recent account activity feature that was introduced back in 2008. This information is still at the bottom of your inbox, but very few bother to look at the details.

Now, if Gmail detects something unusual going on with your account, the new system will alert you by posting a warning message saying, "Warning: We believe your account was last accessed from…" along with the geographic region of the suspicious IP address. For example, if you usually sign into your account in India, and suddenly someone has logged into it from Poland, this would set off an alert.

gmail-warning

To determine when to display this message, our automated system matches the relevant IP address, logged per the Gmail privacy policy, to a broad geographical location. While we don't have the capability to determine the specific location from which an account is accessed, a login appearing to come from one country and occurring a few hours after a login from another country may trigger an alert.

By clicking on the "Details" link next to the message, you can see the last account activity window that you're used to, along with the most recent access points.

gmail-warning2

2 comments:

  1. What if the scammer has changed the pw after accessing the account??

    ReplyDelete
  2. Then contact Google and give proof that the account belongs to you. For that you will have to give informations like:

    *When you opened your Gmail account
    *Most used contact
    *Labels and filters you created
    *Any other information that only the account owner can know

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts