Microsoft announced on Tuesday that it has added a new recycle bin feature on SkyDrive.com cloud storage. The feature which will be rolled out in the coming weeks will allow users to recover files that were accidentally deleted providing some amount of protection to user’s stupidity. While SkyDrive already keeps previous versions of your Office documents automatically, the new feature will be particularly useful in group projects where many users have access and permission to modify files in a SkyDrive folder.
Previously, SkyDrive popped an alert dialog when you attempted to delete something, which you could dismissed to prevent the deletion from taking place. Now, instead of that warning, the new SkyDrive delete function will simply send the deleted file to the Recycle Bin from files can be pulled back if necessary. It then notifies you that the file was deleted. An Undo button in the alert dialog allows for quick recovery.
Items in the recycle bin do not count against your SkyDrive storage space, but there is still a size limit on the amount of files the recycle bin can hold. The recycle bin amounts to 10% of your storage limit. So if you have a 25 GB SkyDrive account you can keep up to 2.5 GB of deleted files in the recycle bin before Microsoft starts deleting the junk itself, but not until the files were in the bin for at least 3 days. This means that you can delete a file that is larger than the recycle bin can hold and still recover it if you act within 3 days of the deletion. Generally, files will stay in the bin for 30 days before they are permanently removed.
Right now, the recycle bin feature is available only on SkyDrive.com, and over time Microsoft expects the functionality to make its way to other SkyDrive apps too.