Thursday, August 1, 2013

How to Disable Private Browsing in Firefox, Chrome and Internet Explorer

Private Browsing allows users to browse the Internet without saving any information about which sites and pages they’ve visited in the browser’s history. By enabling private browsing, one could visit any website they want without the fear of anyone else knowing. These days, all web browser offer private browsing options that make it difficult to monitor a user’s browsing history. If you are a responsible parent, this should concern you because you can never know what your kids might be doing online under the protection of private browsing.

Disable Private Browsing Plus is an add-on for Firefox that completely removes the private browsing option from the browser’s menu. Attempting to launch private browsing using any other means, for instance, from the Jump list in the taskbar or from start menu will be met by the message: “Private browsing has been disable”.

firefox-disable-private-browsing2

Deleting the browser’s history is also rendered impossible. To make sure users cannot disable or uninstall this add-on, options to disable or remove them are also not available. The only way to this extension can only be disabled is to start Firefox in Safe Mode. (To start Firefox in Safe Mode hold down the shift key while clicking on the Firefox icon.)

firefox-disable-private-browsing

Remember, that this extension is only a simple fix. A technical savvy user will still be able to start Private Browsing. A side effect of this extension is that bookmarks can no longer be removed unless in Safe Mode.

IncognitoGone is another free tool that disables private browsing in Chrome, and Internet Explorer. Previously, the tool offered options to disable private browsing in Firefox and Safari too, but after a flaw was discovered that enabled users re-enable private browsing in the two browsers, support for these browsers were removed until a fix could be found.

Warning: Before you run IncognitoGone, please understand that the tool permanently removes private browsing from the said browsers and its effects can't be undone.

“I realized that if there was an “Enable” option provided, it would be too easy for individuals to simply enable private browsing when no one was looking,” said the developer of IncognitoGone. “I do not recommend my program for any individuals who wish to enable and disable the private browsing feature at their leisure. This program is simply for those individuals who wish to be rid of the option.”

When you run IncognitoGone, it opens a small box containing two “Disable” buttons, one each for Chrome and Internet Explorer. Click on the button to remove private browsing.

incognito-gone

IncognitoGone will warn you that the change was permanent. If you want to change your mind, this is your last option. Once you click “yes”, private browsing will be gone from the browser for ever.

incognito-gone-warning

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts