Thursday, November 17, 2011

Forgot to Logout From Facebook? End Active Session From Any Computer

Have you ever used Facebook from your friend’s PC or mobile phone and then forgot to logout before you walked away? Your Facebook session is still active on your friend’s PC which might tempt your friend to cause mischief. If you forgot to logout from a public computer, it may lead to far more disastrous consequences.

To help avoid such incidents, Facebook has a remote logout feature that allows you to terminate any active sessions that you cannot recognize or forgot to logout, from any remote machine. Available since September last year, Facebook's Active Sessions feature allows users to see a list of locations and times their account was recently accessed from as well as the type of device used.


To help users identify between sessions, each is labeled with the time accessed, the device name if a user named it with Facebook’s login notifications feature, the IP Address and the approximate location, and which browser and operating system used. From here, the user can click on the “end activity” link to close that session.

In the case that someone accessed your Facebook account without your permission, you can shut down the unauthorized login before resetting your password and taking other steps to secure your account and computer.

To end a session go to your Security Settings page (Account > Account Security > Security), click on the Active Sessions section and then click on the end activity link next to the session you want to end.

Related Reading: Gmail now alerts users if somebody else is using their account


Post a Comment

Popular Posts